When the summer months roll around I start to put my expensive foundations aside until winter and embrace the complexion I have. However, I wouldn’t be able to do this without a solid skincare routine, which I have been working hard at perfecting recently. I’ve managed to put time aside each day for a thorough morning and evening skincare routine which I would love to share!


Step 1:

DSC_0042 (2)Skincare routines in the morning should be for waking up your skin and creating a hydrated and moisturised base that will stay fresh all day, without stripping your skin bare of the natural oils created overnight. Having said this, your skin can feel dirty in the morning due to impurities and sweat that builds up during sleep, so I start my morning with an oil cleanse. This rehydrates my skin without unnecessarily cleansing it. I use this No7 Youthful Replenishing Facial Oil, massage it in with my Foreo Luna, and then wipe it away with a flannel. I don’t rinse my face with cold water as this will close my pores prematurely and none of the skin-enhancing nutrients from my toner will sink in.

Step 2:

DSC_0057 (2)

After doing a light cleanse, I rinse and close my pores with a toner, which also re-balances the PH levels of my skin. I’ve gone through a bottle of this Simple Soothing Toner, and have since purchased this All Bright Toner from Botanics. Both smell really fresh and are not too harsh on the skin which some toners and lotions tend to be. I sweep it over my skin with a cotton pad and leave it for a few minutes to soak in and dry.

Step 3:

DSC_0074 (2)

After toner, I apply a serum. Skincare should start with the lightest products and should work up to the heaviest – serum is light so should be applied just after liquids. I like using the Drops of Light Serum from The Body Shop as find its consistency soaks in very quickly and leaves me with a lovely glow, but picked up Lange’s Perfect Me Serum from TK Maxx for a very good price so have been using that as well. This serum feels lovely on the skin and helps with acne and blemish issues, but is quite fragranced so I tend to sway more towards the Drops of Light one.

Step 4:

DSC_0091 (2)

I’ve started to use products from The Ordinary brand recently, who provide amazing products for an amazing price. In the morning I like to use their Hyaluronic Acid all over my face which claims to penetrate the skin with extreme moisture. I follow this with my Tea Tree and Witch Hazel Blemish Stick using the day side and again leave these to dry.

Step 5:

DSC_0107 (2)

Once all previous layers have soaked into the skin, I finish off with my moisturiser. I rotate through many different moisturisers but at the moment I am using Nubo’s Cell Dynamic Stimulating Moisturiser which I picked up with the Lange serum at TK Maxx and is coincidentally also very fragranced. Since this is a thin cream and my skin is constantly quite dehydrated, I follow this with my Neutrogena Water Gel which hydrates my skin very quickly and leaves a soft matte finish. It’s very cooling as well so perfect for hot days – I adore this gel!

Step 6:

DSC_0110 (2)

Finally, I always, regardless of weather or season, apply an SPF. I’ve gone through bottles of this No7 SPF50 Facial Sun Protection as protecting your skin from sun and UV rays is so important – they’re the main cause of sun damage! I find this gives me a slightly dewy finish which I love, and you only need to apply a tiny bit to protect your whole face. As well as applying all of these products to my face, I also put them down my neck as well. Age shows most prominently on your neck, and even though I haven’t even reached my 20s yet, there’s no harm in getting into good habits early!


Hopefully this post is helpful and has some good product recommendations. My nighttime skincare routine will be coming up soon!

13 thoughts on “Forget Foundation: Summer Morning Skincare

Leave a Reply

